The 2020 Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded to Roger Penrose, Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Ghez

1 min read

The Nobel Prize in Physics this year was awarded to Roger Penrose(1/2) “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity “ and the other half to Reinhard Genzel, and Andrea Ghez “or the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the center of our galaxy.”

As described in the scientific background, this year’s prize focuses on black holes. Black holes are one of the most interesting subjects of study in the field and have been a center of attention lately perhaps making the prize this year unsurprising.

This story is developing. Check back for details.

Aaron is the founder and president of The Physics Times. He is an undergraduate college student majoring in physics. He likes physics and enjoys listening to classical music.

Previous Story

Video: The Apollo 11 Moon Walk Montage

Next Story

Three scientists share Nobel prize in physics for work on black holes

Latest from Astronomy